as close as i’m gonna get.

I’ve worked for this company for 8 years, and have officed in 3 different locations (not counting that 7-month stint inside a Wal-Mart Supercenter – oh god I’d rather just block that out altogether). This current location is my favorite so far. It’s 8 minutes from my house, but more importantly this is the nicest group of people I’ve gotten to work with so far.
I am not technically an employee of the bank like everyone else here, and I spend most of my day not talking to anyone except for a few customers and a very nice internal wholesaler in Chicago (technically he gets paid to be nice to me but I consider him a friend at this point), but when I do escape from my desk and make the rounds, I always enjoy talking to everyone here. They always make me feel like part of the group and include me in what’s going on (this place has the BEST food days ever). So when the lobby employees decided to dress up as a roller derby team for Halloween, I guess I was so impressed and enthusiastic about their idea, they decided to include me.
I’m not really allowed to dress up for Halloween, and I’m not all that into this particular holiday, but I paid my cash to get my very own VS Vixens t-shirt. The back of the shirt includes the names of everyone on the team – and there I am at the bottom. How cool is that?

If you’re ever need some interesting reading, go and look at all the officially registered Roller Derby names – some are really… unusual! I looked at the list for inspiration. It had to be something with Ace in it…
I know that instead of being Ace-Kicker out on the track, I’d probably actually be “They Kicked Her Ace Real Bad” – but a girl can dream. In my mind, I’m bitchin’ and can roll with the best of ‘em. And in the end maybe that’s what really counts. What I lack in ability I make up for with enthusiasm and a really bad attitude.

no, that’s not one of my real tattoos…
3 thoughts on “as close as i’m gonna get.

Leave a Reply

